Zanetti rewrites history

December 11, 2008 at 9:40 am Leave a comment

zanettiJavier Zanetti celebrated his 600th appearance for Inter in the 1-0 home victory over Lecce on 24 September 2008, showing his love for the black and blue colours and his infinite gratitude towards the Moratti family.

“Thirteen years ago Inter opened the doors to what has become my second home. They put their faith in me when I was an unknown who had come from a small club (Banfield) in Argentina. I was taking my first steps in professional football and having the faith of the Moratti family was important, especially in a team with many champions and many objectives. The Moratti family’s faith in me help me grow. I came here when I was young and it wasn’t easy to find myself in a very big city like Milan. I have followed this path with them and I am very happy to have done so by staying at this club.”

Inter’s captain can’t stop setting records, and with last night’s Champions League appearance against Werder Bremen he matched Giuseppe Bergomi’s all-time tally of 117 European games for the Nerazzurri. And after the final whistle at Bremen’s Weser Stadion, Zanetti’s first thoughts were again of the club and the president: “Inter is my second home, this club has put its faith in me ever since I arrived here. My whole footballing career has been here, I almost feel Italian.”

Zanetti had long surpassed legends of Inter’s one-hundred-year history, like Facchetti, Mazzola, Burgnich and Zenga. It seems like an eternity since that 1-1 draw between Lugano and Inter in the UEFA Cup on 12 September 1995, the Argentine’s first step to becoming a legend.

Congratulations and thank you Capitano, from Inter and all the fans.

Inter’s all-time European appearances list (top ten players):
Javier Zanetti 117, Giuseppe Bergomi 117, Ivan Ramiro Cordoba 83, Giuseppe Baresi 73, Giacinto Facchetti 73, Walter Zenga 71, Alessandro Altobelli 69, Sandro Mazzola 67, Riccardo Ferri 62, Tarcisio Burgnich 61.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Inter the next champion Drogba and Anelka aren´t compatible?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Fixture


